Asian persuasion

When it comes to going out to eat, I always like to pick a cuisine that I can’t replicate at home easily or cheaply, such as sushi, Indian or Asian. On occasion, I’ll get daring and take on a new recipe that requires me to hunt down ingredients that aren’t as common or that I’ve never heard of (see Spring Rolls).  This week I adapted a recipe for Pad Thai Shrimp from Wegman’s Menu Magazine. Flavors of Asia has nothing on me with this delicious and not-to-heavy dish in my dinner arsenal.

This recipe serves four. You’ll find most of your ingredients in the International Foods section of your grocery store. You’ll need:

½ of a 14 oz. package of stir fry rice noodles

8 oz. jar of Pad Thai Sauce

¼ cup of Thai culinary stock

16 oz. package of raw shrimp (41-50 count) peeled and deveined

8 oz. of bean sprouts

1 bunch of green onions, trimmed and cut on the bias

About two tablespoons of oil (I used sesame oil)

3 eggs

Chopped peanuts (I used sunflower seeds because that’s all I had)

1 lime, cut into wedges

To make this dish, you’ll want to defrost your shrimp and put two pots of water on the stove to heat up. One pot should have five cups of water and the other maybe three to four cups of water. While those pots are heating up, mix the Thai stock and Pad Thai sauce together in a bowl and set aside.

When the larger pot of water begins to boil, add the rice noodles, cover, remove from the heat and set aside. With the smaller pot of water, blanch the shrimp for about 30 seconds and then add the bean sprouts for another 20 seconds. Drain the shrimp and bean sprouts and set aside.

In a stir fry pan (I used a skillet), heat up oil until it faintly smokes. Tilt the pan around to distribute the oil evenly. If it smokes too much, the pan is too hot. Add the eggs and scramble them with a spatula. As they start to cook, add the scallions. Cook this mixture until the eggs are done. Set it aside.

Drizzle a little more oil in the pan and tilt around to distribute it evenly. Add the rice noodles and sauce. Cook for about two to three minutes. Add shrimp, vegetables and eggs/scallions to the pan and mix thoroughly. Serve with chopped peanuts and a lime wedge. I also made steamed broccoli with this dish. It was so good, I just ate the leftovers for lunch! (see Leftovers)

One response

  1. Pingback: I’m turning Japanese | diariesofafoodie

Leave a Reply

