Rise to the occasion

When will I ever learn? How many times will I attempt to make my own pizza dough using the instant pizza dough yeast before I realize I’ve lost my touch?

When I used to work at a local pizza and burger restaurant, part of my job was to make huge batches of dough using an industrial sized mixer. Some days the yeast would cooperate, I would use the perfect amount of flour, salt, sugar and water, and the mixture would yield a gorgeous batch of dough. Other days, if my measurements were off in any way, I would be left sweating over the mixing bowl, feeding the monster more flour or water, knowing very well that these adjustments would affect my yeast ratio in the dough and result in it failing to rise, or worse, filling with big air bubbles and rising too much. To add insult to injury, it was me that would have to suffer through whatever type of dough I made as I pressed and stretched the dough later on during dinner service.

Knowing what I know about the fickleness of yeast and making dough, you would think I wouldn’t bother with it at home. Instead I’ve continued to try, only to fail miserably. I think my record is Amy – 1, Dough – 5. We’re not just talking pizza dough here. I even failed miserably at making a box mixture of bread a few weeks ago. The box called for using warm water. The only thing I can conclude is the water I used was too hot?

Even after the boxed bread failure, I still attempted to make my own pizza dough last weekend. While the pizza dough turned out miserable, I’m still going to share this recipe for one of the most delicious pizza toppings I’ve ever had. It’s a recipe from the Moosewood Cookbook series. And please, if you’re experiences with making dough are anything like mine, take my word for it; buy premade pizza dough or a premade crust. It will be worth every penny.

For the pizza topping you will need:

1 pound of mushrooms, rinsed and sliced

1 tablespoon of vegetable oil

1 tablespoon of fresh sage or dill (I used both this time and it was great. If you use dried dill, you only need to use 1 teaspoon)

1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard (you can alter this based on how you like the flavor)

1 cup of grated smoked cheese such as cheddar, provolone or Swiss

1 cup of grated mild cheese (I used Muenster)

½ cup of chopped scallions

Salt and pepper to taste

NOTE: I doubled these ingredients because my pizza dough was rectangular and I needed more topping to cover it completely.

Preheat your oven according to the directions for the pizza crust you selected.

Sauté the mushrooms in a skillet in oil on high heat, stirring often until they begin to release their juices. Add the salt and pepper, sage, dill and mustard and continue to cook until the excess juice has evaporated. Remove from the heat. Stir in the cheeses and scallions into the mushroom mixture.

Spread the topping on the pizza crust and bake according to the directions.

3 responses

  1. Amy! How did I now know about this blog? I am loving the recipes and your writing. I am going to pass this blog on to my students as we study recipes for a book we are about to read called Like Water for Chocolate. Keep the posts coming 🙂
    Ash

  2. I’m not sure! I thought I had told you about it before. It is going to be picked up by Messenger Post Newspapers on their community bloggers page coming soon. I’ll keep you posted! Thanks for following me.

  3. Pingback: No need to knead | diariesofafoodie

Leave a Reply

