Please don’t judge me

I’m going to tell you something I’m not proud of. I won’t blame you if you lose a little respect for me as a foodie once I confess. Have any of you seen that Hellman’s Mayonnaise commercial? It’s the one where the mom, looking for a quick fix idea for dinner, pulls together some Parmesan Crusted Chicken. Here’s one version of the commercial which I’d like to submit as evidence. If you scroll to the end of the video, you’ll see the image that stuck with me and inspired me to try the recipe on Sunday.

Looking up the nutrition information on LiveStrong.com, I see the dish is not diet-friendly. Normally, out of respect for my thighs, I would try to stay away from eating chicken slathered in mayonnaise and cheese. It was Sunday, maybe 5 p.m., and I hadn’t even gone grocery shopping yet. I was a little worn out from celebrating Halloween the night before and craving something kind of “sinful”, but I wasn’t in the mood for takeout. That’s when the image of the Hellman’s commercial came into my mind. I figured I’d try this so you wouldn’t have to.

True to the commercial, the recipe is quite simple.

1/2 cup of mayonnaise
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
4 teaspoons of Italian seasoned dry bread crumbs

As with all recipes, I used this one from Hellman’s website as a guide, adding my own salt, pepper and herbs to the mayonnaise/cheese mixture to give it my own flair. I also used a fresh blend of Italian cheeses instead of plain parmesan. I served it with wheat pasta and some leftover homemade spaghetti sauce which I cooked last week. (Stay tuned for that blog, coming soon.)

Again, true to the commercial, the chicken cooked up juicy and was very flavorful. I guess mayo gets a bad rap. After all, it’s just eggs, oil and vinegar, which probably accounts for the chicken being so tender. (Vinegar tenderizes meat.) This recipe won’t be a regular in my repertoire, but on those days when you just need some comfort food that hits the spot, this might be worth giving a try.

Leave a Reply

