Thinking outside of the shell

If I could only eat one food for the rest of my life, I would probably have to pick pizza. It’s just so versatile and delicious. Good pizza sticks with me. I still dream about the mushroom pizza I ate every day when I was in Italy over fifteen years ago. And I recall with fondness the former Pizza Café, which was located near the DMV and Beers of the World in Henrietta. Now closed, the restaurant offered something like 48 varieties of pizza. For something like $14 you could get salad and endless slices of pizza of all varieties.I

On Sunday morning I recreated another one of my favorite pizzas. I discovered the trick to the perfect breakfast pizza while working at an area restaurant. It’s very simple:

1 ball of dough (I got mine premade from the bakery section)

8 slices of bacon

Red onion, sliced

Garlic, cheese butter (I used Wegmans brand, but you can make your own)

Mozzarella cheese

4-6 eggs

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and par-cook the bacon on a baking sheet covered in foil. I cooked it for about four minutes on each side. You want to cook it so the grease comes out of it, but not completely. Once the bacon is partially done, remove it from the pan and place it on a plate with paper towels to remove the grease. Then increase the heat in your oven to 375 degrees.

While the bacon cooks, prepare your dough and slice your onions. I used about ¾ of the premade dough to roll out a thin, round crust. Once you place the pizza dough on a greased pan, be sure to try to build up a small crust with your dough along the edge of the pan to help keep the ingredients in place. Cover the dough in a thin layer of garlic cheese butter. Next up, add the bacon. I used the slices whole, creating crisscross patterns across the dough. You can also cut the bacon up into pieces.

I put a thin layer of cheese and the sliced onions on the pizza. Lastly, add the eggs. Most breakfast pizzas use scrambled eggs. The secret to the best breakfast pizza is to put the eggs on sunny side up. The egg white will bake together with the cheese and hold all the ingredients together just right.

Before you crack the egg onto the pizza, you’ll want to create small basins around the pizza with the cheese and onions. You’ll want to try to get the yolk in these pockets when you crack the egg to keep from oozing outside crust. I liken it to coloring in the lines. The egg is going to be very fluid and want to run over the crust if you aren’t careful.

I brushed the crust with a little more garlic cheese butter when it was nearly done. Bake the pizza until the crust is done. I prefer it if the eggs stay a little undercooked because then you can dip your pizza in the yolk, like you would toast. To prevent your eggs from overcooking, you could try baking the pizza without the eggs for five minutes and adding them once the pizza is partially cooked.

Leave a Reply

