Hold the Hullabaloo

It isn’t easy to find the energy and inspiration to constantly cook up new things in the kitchen and write about it. Some nights, I don’t have the time for all the hullabaloo involved with dishes like seafood bisque or chicken enchiladas. With the holidays approaching, fast and easy is the name of my game.

This week I tackled a few recipes from the Food Network magazine; actually three if you count the Asian Spiced Baby Back Ribs which I didn’t feel were good enough to endorse in my blog. Actually, I wasn’t blown away by any of the recipes. Have you ever found a recipe book and no matter what you cook out of it, it’s just not that impressive? Still, I’m not ready to give up on the Food Network yet.  I should also add this disclaimer…the issue is from July/August, so all the meals involved grilling. I’m pretty sure you could alter it so you could do this on the stovetop or in the oven if you wanted to.

Last night we had a Buffalo Chicken Salad. I liked it because it tasted like chicken wings but had all fresh ingredients. As always, my recipe deviates from the original. I’ll make notes within to show you where.

You’ll need:

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

2 large skinless, boneless chicken breasts ( I used four small ones and we had leftovers)

½ cup hot sauce (I had Frank’s Wing Sauce on hand, so I used that in place of the butter and hot sauce)

1 tablespoon of olive oil (This is for the chicken. I just use spray olive oil)

1 cup of crumbled blue cheese

½ cup sour cream (I used fat-free)

4 stalks of celery, thinly sliced, plus ¼ cup of chopped celery leaves

¼ small red onion thinly sliced

1 carrot, thinly sliced

1 head of iceberg lettuce, cut into 4 wedges (I used Boston Bib lettuce, because who eats iceberg unless it’s in tacos?)

Spray the chicken with olive oil, season it with some pepper, and begin cooking it on the grill. Flip the chicken after about three minutes and brush it with the hot sauce (mixture). I used a spoon since I don’t own a brush. Continue grilling the chicken, brushing it with the hot sauce after each flip, until cooked.

For the dressing, puree ¾ cup of the blue cheese and the sour cream in a blender until smooth. Add about half the blue cheese dressing to a large bowl and add the carrots, celery, celery leaves, red onions and chicken. Toss the dressing and ingredients together and then served it over the lettuce with the remaining blue cheese. I used some of the remaining dressing and wing sauce to top it off.

One response

  1. Pingback: Did you ever know that you’re my gyro? | diariesofafoodie

Leave a Reply

