Did you ever know that you’re my gyro?

What’s up with food words starting in the letter “G” being so hard to pronounce? From Gnocchi to Gyro, these food names have a way making me sound like I have marbles in my mouth.

This Grilled Skirt Steak Gyro is another one of the Food Network magazine recipes which I tried last week. It was fast and easy,despite the fact that we had to start up the grill. It doesn’t compete with a gyro you would get at an authentic Greek restaurant.

The recipe calls for:

  • 1/3 cup of olive oil
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon dried mint (I used fresh)
  • 1 teaspoon of dried oregano
  • ½ teaspoon paprika
  • Salt and pepper
  • ½ cup 2% plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 green bell pepper, seeded and sliced
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 pound skirt steak
  • 4 pocketless pitas
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • 1 bunch watercress, roughly chopped (I just used whatever lettuce I had lying around)

If you’ve got a charcoal grill like me, you’ll need to get that going first.

Make a marinade for the steak by whisking the olive oil, garlic, mint, oregano, paprika, 1 teaspoon of salt and the pepper into a large bowl. Transfer 1 tablespoon of the marinade into a small bowl and then add the yogurt to the smaller bowl. This will be used to drizzle over the gyros later.

Toss the bell peppers and onions in the oil and herb marinade in the large bowl. Remove the vegetables with a slotted spoon. Do the same with the steak.

The recipe calls for cooking the steak and vegetables on the grill together. I don’t have a grill basket so I cooked the onions and peppers on the stove. Grill the steak for four to eight minutes on each side, depending on the thickness. Cook to your likeness, taking into account the fact that the meat will still cook for a few minutes after it comes off the grill. Let the steak rest for five minutes.

In the meantime, grill the pitas until they are slightly marked, about one minute each side. Slice the steak against the grain. Fill the pitas with the steak, grilled vegetables, tomato and watercress (or in my case, lettuce). Drizzle with the yogurt sauce.

If you have any suggestions on how I can improve this recipe when I try it again, I would love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

