You can’t always get what you want

You’ve all heard of an “aha moment” before? Right? How about the “oh crap moment” that typically proceeds the “aha moment”? More often than not, when I’m cooking, at some point in the process of following the recipe, I realize “oh crap,” I should have marinated the meat for an hour before I started this.

In the case of this sweet recipe for Creamy Blackberry Frozen Yogurt, the “oh crap moment” came when I realized I don’t own an ice cream maker. Thank goodness for Google. For those who live in Rochester, I highly recommend you go to the Public Market and find the guy with the blackberries on sale 2 for $5. Otherwise, the recipe may be cost-prohibitive.

This recipe is super easy. It requires:

  • 3 cups fresh blackberries
  • 3 cups yogurt cheese (or Greek yogurt)
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk

In a blender, puree the blackberries with the sweetened condensed milk. In a medium bowl mix the puree with the yogurt cheese. I also added a few more whole blackberries to the mixture before freezing it. This is where if you have an ice cream maker, you’d pour the mixture in and follow the manufacturer’s directions.

And if you aren’t so lucky to own an ice cream maker, here are the instructions which I attempted to follow. According to this blog, you’ll want to use a custard, Greek yogurt or drained yogurt-based recipe for the smoothest texture possible.

While it seemed my crisis was averted, I wasn’t in the clear yet. There were two more “oh crap moments” to come – one when I realized the side by side doors on my refrigerator weren’t wide enough to put the cake pan into the freezer without coming dangerously close to spilling it all over, and again when I realized I’d forgotten to stir the ice cream every 30 minutes while it froze. Clearly, this recipe can stand the test of user-error.

When I took the ice cream out to serve, it was hard as a rock. After being left out to thaw for about 20 minutes, it scooped nicely. This should be eaten soon after making and it goes dangerously well with a scoop of Turkey Hill’s Vanilla Bean All Natural Ice Cream and some dark chocolate syrup.

Also worth checking out, these 6 Ways to Make Ice Cream Without an Ice Cream Maker by the Huffington Post. I guess I technically chose method #3, minus the actual baby-sitting part.

Leave a Reply

