A shoo-in with Moo Shu

Owning a wok has reduced the number of times I go out to eat for Chinese. The other night I went to Flavors of Asia in Rochester. I visit the restaurant so frequently that the waiter always recognizes me and remembers my favorite selections. On my recent trip to Flavors however, the waiter kept remarking how long it had been since I had eaten there.

That’s when I realized my wok was allowing me to take on dishes that I used to have to rely on Flavors for. The other day I decided to make Moo Shu Pork. The traditional Chinese version of this recipe consists of sliced or shredded pork, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, bamboo shoots, stir fried in sesame oil, ginger, garlic, scallions, soy sauce and rice cooking wine.

The mixture is served in Mandarin pancakes, topped with Hoisin sauce. Upon doing some research into making my own pancakes, I opted to take the easy way out and hit up the local  Asian Market. Navigating through the store and trying to locate things was enough adventure for me.

I doubled this recipe and I most definitely took some shortcuts. It still tasted pretty darn good. Here’s what you’ll need to recreate this amazing dish:

  • ½ pound pork loin, cut into strips
  • 2 to 4 tablespoons of soy sauce
  •  2 tablespoons of sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 2 cups bean sprouts
  • 3 to 4 eggs, beaten
  • 3 to 4 stalks of green onion, julienned on the diagonal
  • 3 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1 cup of Chinese mushrooms, cut into strips
  • 1 cup bamboo shoots, cut into strips
  • Package Moo shu shells
  • Hoisin sauce

Cut the pork into strips and combine it with two tablespoons of soy sauce, 1 tablespoon of sesame oil and the cornstarch. Heat the other tablespoon of sesame oil on medium-high heat in a wok or sauté pan. Cook the pork, stirring frequently.

In a separate pan, cook the scrambled eggs. Try to let the cook in a sheet. When the eggs are cooked, set them aside.

When the pork is about three-quarters of the way done, add the bean sprouts, green onion, mushrooms, bamboo strips and two tablespoons of soy sauce. Add the eggs at the end, breaking them up into smaller pieces as you stir them into the mixture.

Follow the directions for heating the Mandarin pancakes. Fill the center of a pancake with the Moo Shu mixture, top with Hoisin sauce and serve.

One response

Leave a Reply

