Oldies and goodies

As a food blogger, it’s rare I get the chance to cook the same meal twice. There are pros and cons to this. On the plus side, I don’t get into a food rut, I don’t tire of meals often, and I’m always inspired to discover new dishes. On the flip side of the coin, there’s something to be said about cooking something you’ve made many times. You know how it’s going to turn out, you don’t have to study the recipe quite as closely, and you don’t have to spend hours researching and cooking.

With a move on the horizon, I’m noticing I just don’t have time to pull out all the stops these days. I need something that’s healthy and delicious, and I need it fast. That’s where the oldies but goodies like Mexican pizza tend to resurface. Think tacos on a pizza shell and get creative. Here’s what I put on my pizza:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Drain most of the juice from the black beans and mashing them up a bit with a fork or spoon to create a consistency somewhere between baked and twice baked beans. You can also use twice baked black beans, I just grabbed the wrong can in the store. Spread the black beans on the pizza crust. Next add the corn, tomatoes and scallions. Top with taco cheese.

Slice and grill the jalapeno peppers. Distribute evenly over the pizza. Bake for about 25 to 30 minutes, finishing off the pizza with a broil on low heat for about four to five minutes until brown and slightly crispy. Allow the pizza to cool before slicing. Top with avocado and sour cream.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

