There’s a first for everything

I have never been a huge fan of meatloaf. There are only a few versions that tickle my taste buds. Some of you may remember my Vegetarian Garden Loaf with Maple Glaze, gluten-free and vegan dish that tastes as good as it sounds.  My stepfather can also make a mean meatloaf. This recipe for Bacon Wrapped Meatloaf from the Rantings of an Amateur Chef inspired me to give it a shot myself.

I took my own luxuries, incorporating some elements from my stepfather’s recipe. I found the recipe on the Amateur Chef’s blog called for too many eggs. I had to add quite a bit of bread crumbs to soak up all the liquid.  Although I didn’t do this, my step father adds Quaker oats to his recipe in place of some of the bread crumbs which actually does a nice job binding all the meat together as well.

I’m so glad I gave this recipe a shot, because it was melt in your mouth delicious, and how can you go wrong with anything wrapped in bacon? I used pasture-raised meat from Seven Bridges Farm.

Here’s what you’ll need for my version:

  • 1 pound of ground beef
  • 1 pound of ground pork
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 6 slices of white bread
  • 1 cup of grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 medium onion
  • ¼ teaspoon seasoned salt
  • ¾ teaspoon of salt
  • ½ teaspoon of pepper
  • 1/3 cup flat leaf parsley, minced
  • 2 eggs
  • 10 slices of bacon
  • Breadcrumbs, enough to make the meat stick together in a loaf

For the sauce you will need:

  • ¾ cup of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon of brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon of dried mustard
  • 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon of Sriracha sauce

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Line a boiler pan or roasting pan with rack. This will allow the fat to drain away.

Place the bread slices in a large bowl and pour milk over it. Allow the bread to soak up the milk. You can mix the milk and bread together with your hands to help it absorb the liquid.

Put the meat, milk-soaked bread, onions, parmesan cheese, salt, pepper, eggs and parsley in a bowl. Mix it all together with your hands. Form the mixture into a large loaf form on the roasting rack. Stretch the bacon out so it’s thinner and lay the slices over the top of and around the sides of the loaf until it’s completely covered.

Press down a bowl-shaped trough into the center of the loaf. Pour the sauce into the trough in the middle of the loaf. Bake until the center of the loaf reaches at least 160 degrees. Let the meatloaf rest for about 10 minutes before slicing it.    

5 responses

Leave a Reply

